C. Scott M Shepherd - President - Northstar Trade Finance


Born in Ontario, Canada and educated at the University of Toronto and Dalhousie University, Mr. Shepherd has been extensively involved in exports throughout his business career.  He has worked with the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Export Development Corporation, Imperial Chemical Industries PLC and Trafalgar House PLC, as well as a stint as Chief Financial Officer with the Nexus group of Companies in Burnaby, B.C. Canada.

As President and founding director of NORTHSTAR, Mr. Shepherd is very involved with the promotion and support of small and medium sized exporters throughout the world. NORTHSTAR Trade Finance Inc. brings together the export strengths of the Federal Government through the Export Development Corporation and Western Economic Diversification, the Provincial Government of British Columbia, and the private sector through Bank of Montreal, Royal Bank of Canada, HSBC Bank Canada and National Bank of Canada. Offices are located in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montreal, Houston, London UK, Luxembourg, and Northstar Agents are located in Turkey, China and throughout South America.

Mr. Shepherd serves on a number of Canadian Boards. He is the  Chair, BC Provincial Committee, Canadian  Armed Forces Liaison Council; Governor, Dalhousie University; Chairman, MDS Aero Support Corporation; Honourary  Consul of Uruguay for British Columbia and Alberta; National Arts Centre Foundation Director; Director and Chair of Audit Committee, Ridley Terminals, a Federal Crown Corporation appointed May 2008; Honourary President for British Columbia and Yukon St. John Ambulance Brigade;  Past National Director and Member of Audit Committee, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters; Past Governor, BC Institute for Studies in International Trade; Past Vice-Chair and Trustee, Richmond Hospital Foundation ; Past Director and Chair of Audit Committee MDS Aero Support Corp.; Past Director and Chair of Audit Committee Pender Financial Group Corp.; and Former Governor, York House School.